10-mile club time trial – Sunday 8th April

This topic contains 1 reply, has 1 voice, and was last updated by Profile photo of Dan Joyce Dan Joyce 4 months, 1 week ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Dan Joyce Dan Joyce 
    Keymaster

It’s the first of this year’s time trials on Sunday morning, a 10-mile event at Snainton. If you’ve never ridden one before, it’s dead easy: it’s just you riding as fast as you can against the watch. Riders set off at one minute intervals and you must obey the rules of the road. Other rules: you must be aged 12+ (unless on the back of a tandem with a parent/guardian); if you’re under 18, you must wear a helmet. Any bike is fine, as long as it’s roadworthy, isn’t electric, and isn’t a recumbent. You must be a paid-up member of Richardsons CC (or other club affiliated to Cycling Time Trials).

This first event is a handicap one too, which is ideal for relative beginners or complete beginners, as you get a time bonus based on your predicted result. The person who beats their predicted time by the most wins on handicap, and there are points for the top five finishers. Winner at the end of the season gets a shiny trophy.

To take part, sign on (and pay £3) before 8:45am for a 9am start. We meet a few hundred metres down the road from The Coachman in Snainton, on the Yedingham road. Scarborough Paragon are hosting this event.

Couple of notes about this event:
    1. The off-road parking place beyond the metal gate where we meet is currently very muddy. This will limit parking spaces. So if you’re driving out, get there in plenty of time in case you need to park in Snainton itself.
    2. The winter weather has opened up some potholes on the leg between Allerston and Yedingham. These are easily avoidable – as long as you keep your head up and watch where you’re going.

Here’s a map of the course.
    null

And here’s a PDF of the same.